top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMelissa Richardson

Start of Something New

Updated: Feb 11, 2018

It's 11:30 pm on a Thursday night. I just got home from my tour of UPS where I will be rejoining the working world again. I'm tired and grumpy and just want to go to sleep. I'm anxious about juggling a new job, homeschooling my 4 amazing boys, taking care of my wonderful husband, and keeping up with my home.

As much as I want to go to sleep, I think I need to stay up. My work schedule next week is 10:30 pm-2:30 am. If I go to bed now, how am I going to make it through the next week. I absolutely love sleep. It is my 6th love after God, my husband, and my boys. I admit, I could probably sleep half the day away and not feel guilty. These past 2 nights, sleep has alluded me.

I have been completely overwhelmed as of late. For the past 10 years, I have been a stay at home mom, and I had not planned to get a job this soon. Things have happened this past year that made it a necessity for me to work. Thankfully, God provided me with a job that works with my husband's schedule. I have been anxious and terrified. I do not do well with change. I feel like I am going to fail at my new job. I feel like I have failed as a wife and a mother. I have been so wrapped up in what I have been feeling, God and His Word have taken a back burner.

I haven't even thought about giving God all my worries. I allowed those worries to take over my mind and my actions. These past few days have started out like normal. I got up, made my coffee, did school with my kiddos, and took my crochet projects to my room to work on them and stew about my situation. Tonight though, I realized that I need to leave it in God's hands. I need to let God have control of my life. The Bible has so many verses about anxiety and fear, but instead of going to His Word, I allowed my anxiety and fear to take over. Tonight, I claim some of these Verses and commit to start and end my days the same way-with yarn, coffee, and a whole lotta Jesus.

Philippians 4:6-7, Be careful for nothing; but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

Isaiah 41:10, Fear thou not; for I [am] with thee: be not dismayed; for I [am] thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness.

Psalm 56:3, What time I am afraid, I will trust in thee.

1 Peter 5:7, Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you.

29 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

YARN, COFFEE, AND JESUS

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
bottom of page